WHO KNEW READING THE NEWS WAS BAD?

Image

 

The first thing I do every single morning is to reach out for my phone and whatsapp my sisters.

Then I run through my email to check for anything that needs an urgent reply before spending 30minutes catching up on the news. I rationalize this 45minutes as

“lazy morning bed time” = “productive life knowledge time”.

 

But a friend insists that reading the news can be a bad thing when overdone:

This conversation made me realize that

each of us needs to find our own strategy for making reading the vast quantity of news out there meaningful for our own lives.

So I’ve decided to read general news before picking 3 articles on politics, business, & design

Mentally filing away information into 3 categories:

  1. I DIDN’T KNOW = so i know what gaps i have in my content base
  2. I WISH I WROTE THIS PHRASE/OPINION = because some people just have a way with words, or seemingly infinite depths of random knowledge
  3. HOW DID THEY DISCOVER THIS = forcing me to think about their methodology helps me decide if their information is dodgy or inspirational

 

*in case you think this is the last word on NEWS ENGAGEMENT…. NOPE.

For all we know, random scrolling through the news is the BEST way to do it.

I’ll see how i feel about this in July, when my 6 month ‘Brazil Extravaganza and Europe Exploits’ comes to an end. If i’m even just 0.205 milligrams any wiser, you’ll be the first to know.

Leave a Reply

